White Cheddar Chive Soup with Popcorn Garnish

Prep time
Total Time
Not rated
0 ratings

Popcorn plays an unusual role here—it’s the “crouton” or cracker, if you will, on top of the soup. Like other crispy soup toppers, it adds crunch and contrast. In this case, it also makes a great complement to the flavors in the soup.

Using rice flour keeps this recipe gluten-free; but wheat flour may be substituted. Mashed potatoes also thicken and fortify the soup—and it’s a great way to use up leftovers.


  • 4 tablespoons Organic Valley Butter
  • 13 cup finely chopped shallots
  • 13 cup diced sweet red pepper
  • 13 cup diced sweet yellow pepper
  • 13 cup diced sweet orange pepper
  • 4 tablespoons rice flour
  • 3 cups Organic Valley Whole Milk, heated
  • 3 cups mashed potatoes (use leftover mashed potatoes)
  • 3-3 12 cups chicken stock (or vegetable stock)
  • 3 cups grated Organic Valley Raw Sharp Cheddar (or Vermont Sharp Cheddar)
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 4 tablespoons chopped fresh chives
  • popcorn, popped


1. Heat butter in heavy soup pot over medium flame. Add shallots and cook, stirring occasionally, for 2-3 minutes. Add chopped sweet peppers; cook over medium-low heat until vegetables are tender, 6-8 minutes.

2. Stir in rice flour and cook gently 2 minutes, stirring often. Whisk in hot milk, mashed potatoes and chicken broth until smooth. Simmer 10-15 minutes.

3. Remove from heat, let stand 5 minutes, then whisk in grated cheese a little at a time. Season soup with salt and pepper to taste. Stir in chives. Reheat gently.

4. Serve with popped popcorn scattered over the top of each bowl.


The mixed colors of the sweet peppers are really pretty in this soup. However, if you’re not a fan of sweet peppers, you can substitute broccoli or another vegetable, or replace it with cooked chicken or ham. Or, leave the extras out altogether.

My Cookbook

Saved recipes: 0 edit / view


Alice from Wylie on October 29th, 2012
You know there is still Gluten in Corn right? Corn's prolamine is Zien and 55% of the protein found in the corn proteins is has been found to be just as reactive to those with gluten sensitivity as the Wheat prolamine Gliadin and that is 69%.

I know the FDA does not recognize it yet, but all grains have gluten in them and people are reacting to as little as 5ppm.

Just thought I should put that out there.
Angie at Organic Valley

Hi Alice, Thank you for sharing that information. Certainly individuals who are gluten intolerant should consult their health care specialist about whether it is all right for them to consume corn. One concern for popcorn is to make sure it is free from cross-contamination, as well.

Post a Comment

* (not displayed)


* - required field

Where to Buy Our Products
Search the Website
Animal Care
Beyond the Plate
Organic Valley on Facebook and Twitter Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook
Where to Buy Our Products
Organic Valley